Northeast Florida Paradise

Late-Autumn

Colocasia ‘Illustris’

Posted by Jake on 20 August, 2009


Colocasia ‘Illustris’ is an Elephant Ear that I have wanted since 2007, so this year I finally bought one and was glad I did. It is a very beautiful Elephant Ear with it’s black and green leaves. It is also quite the spreader as it spreads from underground runners. It has also been sending up it’s yellow spathes or flowers since August which apparenty smell good if you stick your nose to them. This Colocasia is hardy to at least zone 7 with some reports in zone 6 of it returning with a fresh layer of winter mulch in the fall. Another important thing is the more sun Colocasia ‘Illustris’ gets the blacker the black is. The ‘Illustris’ in the pictures below aren’t in the best of sun, so they could be blacker.

Colocasia 'Illustris'

Colocasia 'Illustris'

Runners

Runners

6 Responses to “Colocasia ‘Illustris’”

  1. gail said

    I have long admired these plants, but think they would look out of place in my Tennessee natives garden….It looks good in yours. I never knew it spread by runners! gail

    • Jake said

      It may be out of place in a native garden, but maybe there is one spot that you could place one of these. They are one of the more ornamental types and are great looking.

      Jake

  2. Zone 7 you say? Hmmm, that’s us, 7a though. Like Gail, my garden is not the tropical style, but I do have a thing for elephant ears, and this one in particular! Good choice!
    Frances

    • Jake said

      Thanks! I think you should make a spot for these beauties. I am not sure where you are located, but I now someone on a message board in Cleavland,TN that has these growing outside.

      Jake

  3. Jan said

    I kind of like the green and black of these. I think if I grew them I would make sure they didn’t get too much sun so that they would look like yours.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    • Jake said

      I too like having more green then black. I think you should defintely get one, I may have some to send in a few months or in the spring. They will probably need to divided by ethier of those times.

      Jake

Leave a Reply

 
