Northeast Florida Paradise

Late-Autumn

A Red Star Is Shining

Posted by Jake on 1 August, 2009


August 1st will be marked as the day that my Texas Red Star Hibiscus bloomed for the first time. This plant was started form seed in January, but it didn’t truly start to grow until it was planted in the ground in March. I think I probably planted them out to early, I don’t think they were at the stage of growth to go from a pot to the ground.  It didn’t seem to phase them as one is blooming, the other red one has blooms along with the two White Star’s.

Texas Red Star Hibiscus Overview

Texas Red Star Hibiscus Overview

Red Star

Red Star

A Better View

A Better View

Jake
6 Responses to “A Red Star Is Shining”

  1. Darla said

    OOOhhh!! I love it Jake…~

  2. ChrisC said

    It’s beautiful! Where did you get it?

    • Jake said

      I recieved it from a person on a forum in TN that had seed. I hope to have seed this fall and I am willing t send some to anyone that wants some. They are very easy to start from seeds.

      Jake

  3. Meems said

    That red star is so unique. I’m not usually a big fan of hibiscus due to their sensitivity to frost and to bugs. But every time I see this one I feel that little twinge in my brain suggesting maybe I’d like to try this one. 🙂 Yours is very pretty and what great satisfaction starting it from seed and now it is blooming for you! Great job!
    Meems @ Hoe and Shovel

    • Jake said

      It is a beauty! Thanks! I hope to have seed this fall and would like to send some to anyone who wants some. They are the easiest seeds I have ever had to deal with.

      Jake

Leave a Reply

 
