Northeast Florida Paradise

Late-Autumn

The Aussies and the Colocasia’s

Posted by Jake on 16 June, 2009


I have two Australian plants in my yard that seem to like the 90F/32C  plus heat we have been having. The Silver Dollar Eucalyptus has grown a huge amout since when it was planted in April. The Foxtail Palm seems to be established now, it is opening up its new frond and looks happy in the heat.

April 18, 2009

April 18, 2009

June 16, 2009

June 16, 2009

Top View

Top View

 

Foxtail Palm

Foxtail Palm

 

I also thought I would show you some of my Colocasia. I love the way the ‘Illustris’ is growing compared to pictures I have seen and another one I have. The ‘Big Dipper’ is finally pushing out large leaves that are holding water which is great. I then have another regular green Colocasia that has a leaf that is abut 1.5ft long and 6-9″ wide. The ‘Pink China’ which is the really hardy one has started to pick up size. It would have been nice had Michigan Bulb Co. sent a larger plant. I then have an unknown one that is located in six locations in my yard; I wish Iknew what exact kind they are.

Colocasia 'Illustris'

Colocasia 'Illustris'

Colocasia 'Big Dipper'

Colocasia 'Big Dipper'

Giant Leaf of Regular Green Colocasia

Giant Leaf of Regular Green Colocasia

Colocasia 'Pink China'

Colocasia 'Pink China'

Unknown Colocasia

Unknown Colocasia

 

I hope you are having a great growing season and have a great day!

Jake

2 days until I got to Kentucky!

3 Responses to “The Aussies and the Colocasia’s”

  1. Jan said

    I really like the Big Dipper colocasia. I grow several colocasia, and I was just thinking this morning that I need to add more. I need to look for Big Dipper.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  2. Brian Williams said

    I was doing some research and ran across your site were you were growing Colocasia Pink China and big dipper. Both are plants I named and introduced to the market years ago. I then read you live in Kentucky? I run and operate a nursery in Kentucky just south of Louisville that deals in mostly tropical and hardy tropical plants. If your interested in Colocasia or other plants you should stop in I should have a good stock this season as well as large displays of tropicals. Thanks

    Brian Williams

    • Jake said

      I actually bought them from you and had them shipped to Florida. I would like to stop by and I can’t wait to put those Colocasia’s in the ground up here. Thanks for checking out my log. My KY blog is NelsonPG.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
