Northeast Florida Paradise

Late-Autumn

The Unnoticed

Posted by Jake on 12 June, 2009


Sometimes when you don’t get out or really look at your yard in a longtime you don’t notice somethings. Last week I was mowing and as I was I began t notice stuff in my own backyard I had not noticed.

I saw a Caladium has came up under the Azalea after I moved the main plant to the front in more shade. I guess I left a peice of the bulb in the ground. The Azalea has grown enough that it shades it from the full sun exposure it would be in otherwise.

I also noticed a Spiderlily I planted back in the early winter has really cm back well from being frosted almost away. I also noticed the Acidanthera have buds and are now blooming this week. I saw that the Colocasia ‘Illustris’ has really established itself along with how red the Siam Red Banana has gotten. I noticed the Hibiscus cannabinus have made there way almost to the top of the fence; they were just six inch seedlings in late March/early April when I planted them. I also saw that my Alocasia ‘Odora’ that had almost rotted completely and I put the good part back in just to see if it would grow now has came back up and has two leaves. Then finally I have another Illustris that is just now coming up underneathe a window in the shade. I want to see how the color varies in the shade compared to sun.

I thought all this was interesting; do you have stuff in your yard like this?

Jake

One Response to “The Unnoticed”

  1. Darla said

    I overlook stuff everyday. I literally stumbled into a full sunflower bloom!

Leave a Reply

 
