Northeast Florida Paradise

Late-Autumn

They Finally Arrived!

Posted by Jake on 10 May, 2009


Back in March when I was ordering stuff online I ordered stuff online. Most of it came in fast, but two different orders did not come until Thursday morning.

My first arrival was an Elephnat Ear from Springhill Nursery in Ohio. They are affiliated with Michigan Bulb Company and I have had great expirnces with all both of them. I paid a little bit more for this Elephant Ear then I really wnated to and expected a small plant like I recieved from Michigan Bulb earlier this spring. I got a huge plant that had two bulbs instead of one, what a great deal! The Elephant Ear is called, Colocasia esculenta ‘Illustris’ and looks beautiful in pictures. They are hardy to zone 7 at least and maybe zone 6 with some protection.

The next plants I ordered from was from a place in my home state in the city of Louisville. The nursery is Brian’s Botanicals and they have other non hardy plants that can grow in places that aren’t even hardy above zone 9. I had a great exprince except for the lack of communication. I find it crazy I had to order the two types of Elephant Ears and one Banana Tree I bought in Kentucky, because I couldn’t find them here. The first Elephant Ear is a hardier version of the Tea Cup Elephant Ear. It is called Colocasia esculenta ‘Big Dipper’ or just Big Dipper Elephant Ear. It came with a baby already sprouting, how awesome is that. These leaves turn into “cups” when it grows a little more and holds water and then dumps it as it gets full. It is hardy to zone 6 with protection.

The next Elephant Ear I got is  Colocasia esculenta ‘Black Pearl’ or Black Pearl Elephant Ear. It has a cool black spot in the middle of it’s leaves. It is hardy to zone 6 and possibly zone 5 or more with protection.

I also got a Musa ‘Siam Ruby’; it is a gorgeous all red with some green varegation in its leaves. It si only hardy to zone 9 or 10 and is a plant that I fugure I might as well grow while I am in an area that I can. I may not live here forever, but at least I will have grown this at some point.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Friday I went out to Home Depot in search of  Musa Basjoo Banana again and instead found a great deal on a four foot Banana that was only $9.99. The Banana Tree is called Musa acuminata which is can be Dwarf Cavendish sometimes, but this one is not a Cavendish, it’s trunk isn’t reddish and it is skinny, I was excited to get it.

Ithen went to an Ace and what nice garden centers they have. I figured it would be like a fmaily owned nursery and I was right. They had a Cast Iron plant for $6.00 that was really busting out of its pot. Cast Iron needs as much shade as you can get it. It can live in more sun the farther north in the country you live. It is cold hardy to at least zone 6 althugh most places don’t list them that cold tolerant. I also found what I believe are Musa Basjoo for $7.00 dollars each. They are a lot smaller, but I was willing to buy them since I couldn’t find them anywhere else.

It has been really hot here and luckily after Monday it will be cooler, but still hot to me. We should see lower 80’s instead of low to mid 90’s. We might also get some rain from the cold front coming through Monday.

Thank You For Reading,

Jake

4 Responses to “They Finally Arrived!”

  1. Jan said

    I have had “Illustris” for several years now, and it is wonderful – so shiny. I underplanted it with some chartreuse hostas and the color combination looks really great. Good luck with your new plants.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  2. Jake said

    Thank you! I can’t wait for that one to grow in a few months.

    Jake

  3. Jettywolf said

    Thanks for the info on your Banana hunt. I’m also looking locally to get a few tal plants to screen out a neighnor. I’ll hit the local stores.

    • Jake said

      If you don’t buy a Musa basjoo you will have very fast growth even the first year. Basjoo’s take about 3 yers to get going even in our climate.

      Jake

Leave a Reply

 
