Northeast Florida Paradise

Late-Autumn

Musa sumatrana ‘Rojo’

Posted by Jake on 2 March, 2009


I normally don’t post two post in one day, but I had to tell you about my newest addition. Saturday while out in Jacksonville I ran to almost every Lowe’s and looked around in the garden center. I was thinking I might just pick up a Majesty Palm, but something else caught my eye. It was the Rojo Banana, it was a Banana Tree I was wanting, but thought for sure I would have to order it online and get a smaller plant. I knew has soon as I saw it what Banana it was and was excited to see one. They were selling them for $9.98, what a deal. I actually have an employee discount there so I got it for $8.98, even a better deal. Only one Lowe’s I visited had these, lucky me I went to that one. 

Every since I brought it home I have had to protect it from the wind so the leaves don’t shred. It aso isn’t being planted until after the threat of frost or freezes has past maybe in a month. I don’t wan this little baby to be set back so early.

Here are some pictures of it, it is just striking I think:

I also picked up at Wal-Mart some seeds I had been wanting. They were a dollar pack which seems to be more then I paid last year, but it is just a dollar each, so I;m not complaining.

The seeds I bought were:

Sunflower ‘Skyscraper’    Sunflower ‘Red Sun’

Sunflower ‘Mammoth’      Moonflower(Evening Glory) ‘Ipomoea’

I will start some of these in a few weeks. I like to stagger my Sunflower’s so I have some in July and August and then some in September and October. I did this on Kentucky, but I hope it works here too.

Lastnight we were forecast to hit 31 degrees, but that didn’t happen. We actually only hit 42 degrees at my house, so that was good. We are forecasted to hit 29 degrees tonight, but hopefully that won’t happen. For the sake of my plant’s that have started to grow or about to start I hope this is the last of the chill until next winter. Although I have been told last summer and autumn was cooler then normal for Florida, ouch, that will hurt since I thought we has some hot days until January this year.

Have a great day,

Jake

14 days until St. Patrick’s Day!

17 days until Spring Begins!

2 Responses to “Musa sumatrana ‘Rojo’”

  1. Kevin said

    I am researching fertilizers for bananas. I read where they need alot of fertilizer (6-2-12) pottasium nitrate, and some magnesium. I have a rojo and a cavendish and am trying to get them to shoot up taller. Let me know if you have had any luck in this area. I down by St. Augustine.

    Kevin

  2. Jake said

    I was told by someone to use the Tomato fertilizer I bought the Miracle-Gro king that you have to mix in water. We will see how it goes!

    Jake

Leave a Reply

 
