Northeast Florida Paradise

Late-Autumn

End on a High Note, I Guess?

Posted by Jake on 27 February, 2009


February proved to be a cool month for Florida. The beginning of the month damage to plants that I had been able to keep undamaged all winter. Now, the temperatures are rising and the more and more 70’s are in our forecast, 81 degrees tomorrow. March looks like it will come in like a Lion for sure as we are suppose to get severe weather Saturday night through Sunday morning. I doubt we will get the thunderstorms, it actually storms here less than it did in Kentucky. Tropical Storm Fay wasn’t really stormy except for an hour. I do like storms, but not Tornado’s, those I can do without.

The Azalea bush in my yard is really blooming. It seems early to me, I am use to them blooming, April and May. The one question is why just ONE Azalea was planted when the house was built, they look better together in a group.

The plants seem to be rebounding, my Chinese Yellow Banana Tree has finally started to grow a new leaf, yay. It is apparently more frost-tolerant then my Cavendish Banana. My Cavendish was covered and the new leaf still browned out, but the Yellow Banana’s leaf is still green and pushing out. My Amaryllis has started to push out new growth, though I’m not to sure it is a bloom or a new leaf. In Kentucky I left them outside over last winter and they bloomed after they started growing last spring. I hope this one will bloom, it was the one that didn’t bloom last year. My Spider Lily really surprised by starting it’s growth two days after the 23 degree morning.

Going onto the palm tree’s,  my Kentucky Palms, the Windmill, Texas Palmetto, and Needle Palm are fine, my Spindle Palm is browned out, but has a new frond coming out. The baby Spindle looks really bad and I don’t think I it will survive we will have to see.  My Coconut Palm is another that I’m not sure about, we shall see. I knew both the Coconut and Spindle’s are marginal in my area.

My Castor Bean has leaf buds over it and some new leaves are already out and it seems to have made a recovery. There is still no sign of the Mexican Petunia, it should come back, it is pretty hardy. My Plumbago’s are starting to come back, so that answered my question on them. There is still no sign of my Elephant Ear, but impatient me dug them up today and they are growing, just slowly.

I hope everyone has a good Saturday, I may have another February post and I may not. The last picture is of my lanai bed that contains my Windmill Palm, Castor Bean and Queen Palm. My Queen Palm didn;t turn yellow and is just has greena s it was even after 23 degrees. I have seen some Queen Palm’s in my enighborhood and around town that all the fronds are brown and the palms look to be dying. I am sure they will be okay, we will see this summer.

Jake

17 days until St. Patrick’s Day!

20 days until Spring Begins!

2 Responses to “End on a High Note, I Guess?”

  1. Sheila said

    Hope March is good to you!

  2. Tatyana said

    I’ve always wanted to have Castor Bean plants. But the word “poisonous” stops me from getting it since I have dogs and kids. What do you think? Is it really dangerous?

Leave a Reply

 
