Northeast Florida Paradise

Late-Autumn

The Giants

Posted by Jake on 22 October, 2008


In my backyard there re two plants that have turned into giants in no time. Those plants are Castor Bean and Cavendish Banana Tree.

The Castor Bean is very big and grows taller daily, you can almost see the height difference daily. The only dissapoinsting aspect of this Castor Bean is the fact that it looks nothing like the plant I got the seeds off of. My Castor Bean was seed started; I put the seed in the ground and watering and it grew. The Castor Bean started to bloom over the weekend and I decided to cut it off yesterday. The plant was only meant to be a fast growing annual that I will probably take out next spring.

The Banana Tree was planted as a two to three foot tall plant that I got for $7.99. The plant really took off with the the heat and humidity of August and September. The Banana was putting out close to two leaves a week. Since the cooler weather as started it is down to about one leaf a week. The newest leaf is just HUGE!

There is also a picture of the Queen Palm  planted in June and a hanging basket I just made on a whim. The hanging basket come from me finding and old hanging basket holde and connected it to a normal pot. I put some I believe Purple Sweet Potato Vine cuttings, Boston Fern maybe, and Purple Grass in it. The picture was from Saturday and it has been growing for about three weeks. The vine is growing really fast. 

There you have itm the giants of Northeast Florida Paradise!

Jake

9 days untill Halloween!

One Response to “The Giants”

  1. I’ve been wanting to try castor bean. Where did you get the seeds?

Leave a Reply

 
